Since I’ve been gone…

2012

Twenty-twelve just wasn’t my blogging year…actually much of 2012 was just a write-off.

  • It was my dad’s 30th anniversary since his death
  • My mum was in hospital for a month where she spent 3 weeks in intensive care
  • I was torn between two lovers *cue music*…feeling like a fool…(sing along with me now)…
  • Was bored of my job/life – quit my job after thinking about it for 3 days with the intent of moving to Melbourne but ended up staying in Brisbane and moving to another department in the same organisation I worked for

On the upside I was in Fiji three times last year.

Lots has happened out there in Oceania or should I say Oceania in diaspora – I hardly come across information about the arts happening in the Islands. Maybe I stalk  I’m friends with the wrong people.

Here are just a few events that has happened since I’ve been gone…

The 7th Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (APT7) opened in December at the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) and Queensland Art Gallery (QAG) here in Brisbane. I didn’t get a chance to go to the opening as I was busy that weekend.  It ends 14 April so I have a bit of time to see it.

Pacific artists featured: Sopolemalama Filipe TOHI (Tonga/New Zealand) | {disarmed} imagining a Pacific archive: Torika BOLATAGICI (Australia/Fiji), Mathew HUNKIN (New Zealand/Samoa), Teresia TEAIWA (United States of America/Kiribati/New Zealand) | Graham FLETCHER (New Zealand/Samoa) | Asmat artists: Ben AFEX; Amatus AHMAK; Antonin ARKE; Primus ISIMIN; Stefanus JAKFU; Norbertus JOKOMEN; Paulis KOMARE; Paulis POKMAN; Yakobus SERAMBI; Dinisius SIRETS (West Papua, Indonesia) | Greg SEMU (New Zealand/Samoa) and from Papua New Guinea two co-curated projects explore specific focuses. Works from Papua New Guinea include a group of performance masks and painted and carved structures from New Britain and the Sepik.

the other APT 2012 – an online exhibition of alterNATIVE perspectives curated by Jenny Fraser. Coinciding with and responding to the state government-run 7th Asia Pacific Triennial in Queensland, the other APT  features a range of artworks from Australian-based artists of various cultural backgrounds and art forms. Check it out here the Facebook Event page here.

Masi, which premiered in Wellington at the New Zealand International Arts Festival last March was shown in Fiji (December 2012) and at the Sydney Festival 2013 (January 2013). Directed by Nina Nawalowalo, Masi tells a touching love story between her parents – a Fijian high chief from the island of Kadavu and the daughter of Cambridge-educated schoolmasters in the 1950s.

“Nawalowalo blends physical theatre, magic, live music and a muscular ensemble of traditional Fijian dancers to tell the story of her parents’ romance, which began over a game of chess”. ~ Lloyd Bradford Syke

Concealed Ancestors  (12 January – 23 February 2013) was a solo exhibition by Waikato-based Fijian-Maori visual artist, Margaret Aull, co-curated by Nigel Borell and Ema Tavola for Papakura Art Gallery, South Auckland. Produced as part of Margaret’s post-graduate studies, the work is an in-depth visual enquiry into the concept of taputabu or sacredness informed in part by a recent trip to Fiji and time spent at the Fiji Museum.

8243140703_4cdc16c1cf_z Whakapapa transfer station | Margaret Aull | Acrylic, graphite, ink, 24-carat gold leaf on paper

In May last year Fiji’s international carrier, Air Pacific announced its rebranding, which included a name change to Fiji Airways, and a distinctive new logo that highlights the companies Fijian roots. Air Pacific commissioned Fijian masi artist, Makereta Matemosi to design the new logo.

Fiji Airways 15 motifs to be trade marked

Fast forward to January 2013 when Air Pacific publishes its intentions to trade mark 15 individual masi motifs used in its new logo.

There was a public outcry over this on Facebook (the new platform for public outcry). A Facebook page was created by a concerned group of people NA NODA MASI – Do not TM our cultural heritage, as well as an online petition.

The online petition is still open, please sign and share.

More info: NA NODA MASI – Do not TM our cultural heritage Facebook page; Cultural identity by Tevita Vuibau. Fiji Times; Appropriation (?) of the Month: Fiji Masi for Air Pacific or for Everyone? by Kristen Dobbin.

2013

I hope to feature more of Urban Viti blog series: interviews {Talaona}, DIY’s {Tovolea mada}, style features {vale ni style}, cultural appropriation and (my) geometric obsessions {kerei}, as well as regular updates on exhibitions and such.

Hopefully I’ll be blogging more this year and making art…one can only dream *sigh*.

Don’t forget to check out Urban Viti on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Urban.Viti

Post-script: It took me three hours to write this post! Which made me realise the main reason why I haven’t been blogging – the lack of a personal computer! My laptop died on me some time in 2011…two years on and I haven’t been able to afford a replacement.

I’ve been spending my money on travelling – 2011 I travelled three times interstate and three times as well to Auckland and once to Fiji. In 2012 I went twice to Auckland and three times to Fiji!

This year I plan only to do two international flights – Fiji at the end of the year and to Europe to see my love <<< Yes, I’m no longer torn between two lovers.

So I think it’s about time I spoilt myself and bought a new laptop.

Image sources: Concealed Ancestors via PIMPI ; Fiji Airways logo via NA NODA MASI – Do not TM our cultural heritage

2 thoughts on “Since I’ve been gone…

  1. Nelson says:

    At this time it looks like WordPress is the top blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

Leave a Reply

