Viti Roundup : APAN, Radio Australia Interview, Pacific Storms and don’t forget…

APAN

I was in Melbourne last week (Thursday, 30 June 2011) for the first inaugural meeting of the Australia Pacific Arts Network (APAN) at  the Wilin Centre For Indigenous Arts, Victorian College of the Arts in Southbank.

Formerly called Australia Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust, APAN was born out of a meeting over a year ago of like-minded artists and curators Shigeyuki Kihara, Maryann Talia Pau, Sana Balai and Loketi Niua Latu.

APAN is a not for profit organisation which aims to nurture, foster and develop the Contemporary Pacific Arts movement in Australia.

“As a NGO it continues to pursue its goals through promoting and providing profile to Pacific heritage artists and their work. It operates on the understanding that the artists remain independent of APAN and come together through the APAN connection to participate in art events.”

For more information about APAN, go to their page on Facebook and also on Loketi Niua Latu’s blog here.

It was great meeting up with other Pacific artists, especially those who I’ve been stalking reading about online.

Some of the attendants at the APAN meeting, Stéphanie Kabanyana, Ve Kaloumaira, Grace Vanilau, Kilisitina Sisifa, Josephine, Ann Fuata, Leanne Clayton, Dulcie Stewart, Shigeyuki Kihara and Loketi Niua Latu

I’d like to say vinaka vaka levu to Loketi Niua Latu, Shigeyuki Kihara, Maryann Talia Pau, Sana Balai, Dr. Guy Powles, Leanne Clayton, Kilisitina Sisifa and Léuli Eshraghi for all their hard work. And a special thank you to Loketi for collecting me from the airport and organising our beautiful dinner.  So beautiful I took some palusami/luau back with me to Brisbane!

The beautiful kakana(food) at the APAN meeting

For more photos from the meeting, see my Urban Viti Flickr photos here

Radio Australia Interview 

Last week I was interviewed live on radio by Isabelle Genoux of Radio Australia. Thank goodness they’re not up to date with posting their interviews online because in my opinion I sucked on so many levels. Till today, I still cringe whenever I think about it.

I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m not much of a talker when it comes to meeting new people – I’m one of those stand in the corner and observe, never stand up and speak in front of a crowd kind of person. So I surprised myself when I agreed to a LIVE interview. I’m so sticking to writing from now on.

That aside, thanks to Isabelle and her team for having me on.

Pacific Storms

I was one of the artists that exhibited at Pacific Storms which ended 25 June at Logan Art Gallery. As I was sick most of last month, I didn’t get a chance to blog more about it. I had hoped to feature more of the artwork from the exhibition, as well as talanoa(interview) the other artists. I shall be doing that in the coming weeks (once I get my act together).

In the mean time, here are some photos from the opening night.

Clive Moore with Pacific Storms curator, Joycelin Kauc LeahyProfessor Clive Moore with Pacific Storms curator, Joycelin Kauc Leahy

Toddy Tree (Water and Wine) 2011 | Anna-Maria O’Keeffe

Dulcie StewartMe standing in front of digital prints. Top: My Land My History by Telly Tuita. Digital prints 2011. Bottom: an/other oceania by Dulcie Stewart. Digital prints 2011.

More photos can be seen here on Flickr and on the Pacific Storms page on Facebook here.

Don’t forget

… to stay connected with Urban Viti on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/Urban.Viti

Or you can sign up to receive notifications of new posts by email. If you go to the top of this page on the right hand side, enter your email address under EMAIL SUBSCRIPTION.

One thought on “Viti Roundup : APAN, Radio Australia Interview, Pacific Storms and don’t forget…

Leave a Reply

