Reflections of my salusalu

Back in May I had mentioned in the first Viti Roundup (a weekly (now random) round up of sorts):

“Coming up over the next few days will be highlights of my recent trip to the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMa) in Brisbane. They currently have a display of Pacific jewellery from the Gallery’s Collection and focuses on the diversity of media used by artists to create both lei/salusalu and other forms of body adornment.”

Well I lied and never did get around to it  because I thought I had accidently deleted the photos off my camera of the Pacific Jewellery display and the Unnerved: The New Zealand Project exhibition. But to my surprise I found them on my laptop last night, neatly filed away in my “May 2010” photo album!

Here’s a sneak peak at the Pacific Jewellery display.

Reflections of my salusalu
Salusalu c. 2006
Lei folded, dyed vau and bark cloth.
Gift of the Fiji Arts Council.
Gallery of Modern Art collection

The Pacific Jewellery display has about 35 traditional and contemporary pieces that are part of GoMa’s collection from all over the Pacific – Fiji, Hawaii, Marshall Islands, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea,  Rotuma/New Zealand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna. Some of the works were purchased in 2003 during the annual Pasifika Festival in Auckland, New Zealand and from the 9th Festival of Pacific Arts in 2004 which was held in Palau.

Over the next few weeks (yes, I’m covering my basis now) I will be reviewing GoMa’s Pacific Jewellery collection and the Unnerved: The New Zealand Project exhibition which ended in the beginning of July.

Leave a Reply

