Viti Round Up

When I started this blog I had planned to do a round-up of the weeks blog posts…but I ended up doing only two.  Here’s my attempt at it again but I can’t promise it’ll be weekly 😀

Exhibitions: The Paperskin – the art of tapa cloth opened at Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand in Wellington. The exhibition ends 12 September. For those in Sydney, the Talking Tapa: Pacific Bark Cloth in Queensland exhibition ends 18 July at Mosman Gallery; Native Coconut at Fresh Gallery in Otara, New Zealand also ends 18 July. Curator Ema Tavola has posted some photos from the exhibition on Flickr.

The attentive listeners at the Native Coconut Artist
talk on 3 July at Fresh Gallery
. Image via Colour Me Fiji

Fesitvals/Forum/Performances: The Melanesian Arts Festival event organisers are calling for volunteers. The festival will be held in New Caledonia from 12-24 September, 2010. The deadline for submission is July 18; Pacific History Conference is on from 12-16 September in Goroka, Papua New Guinea; Body Pacifica festival was on from 25-27 June at Casula Powerhouse in Sydney. The exhibition ends 29 August.


Body Pacifica. Images by Kalo Fainu
via Australia Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust

Kerei/Home products: Geometic factorgeometric and linear lines featured in home products; Flashback from my childhood when we had woven mats on our walls.

Music: Latest video from Fiji MC Sammy G and an interview he did with Felix Chaudhary from early this year.

Talanoa: I talanoa with Sachiko Miller from VOU, a contemporary dance company in Fiji.

Flim/Play: One Love Oceania  presents Being Queer is a HomecomingPacific artists in the US explore their roles as sisters, daughters and lovers in this ensemble performance where being queer is truly a homecoming ; Message Sticks Indigenous Film Festival kicked off in June and will tour around Australia until September; Lakovi, the first Fijian language contemporary play was on from 30 June to 3 July in Suva, Fiji.

Scene from Lakovi. Image via Mai Life magazine

I also managed to score a freebie! I won the publication of Unnerved: The New Zealand Project exhibition at The Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art in Brisbane. Read all about it here.

If you’re a regular of Urban Viti, you would have noticed I haven’t blogged that much lately and it’s not because of the lack of things happening or ideas I have – I put it down to winter blues 😦      <—–Ok, ok…I promise that’s the last of those dreaded emoticons in my posts!

Now don’t get me wrong, I love winter. At the beginning of the year I couldn’t wait for winter. I love(ed) it cause I could wear my  jackets and scarves , stockings and boots, have  hot chocolate and soups…but now I so freaking can’t wait for winter to end!!!!

Give me warm sunny days!!!!

Leave a Reply

