Woven Walls

sisters mat wall

I found this photo of me and my baby sister taken in 1983. Notice the woven mat behind us…except its on the walls. Not too sure if the walls were like that when my grandparents bought the place in the 1960s.

Christmas mat wall

And here’s another one of me taken around 1980 or 81. This is the same wall but on the left hand side. Notice there isn’t any black voivoi (pandanus leaves), so I’m guessing the pattern changed half -way across the wall. Sadly that wall doesn’t exist anymore due to renovations in the early 90s.

I don’t think I’ve seen another wall like that in any other home in Fiji, apart from some homes in the village. Has anyone else seen walls like this?

Edited: 8 July, 2010.

One thought on “Woven Walls

  1. Maria Turaga says:

    Mat covered walls feel very 70s-ish to me – very nice. i think i’m loving the geometrics that you’re spouting here sister gal!!

Leave a Reply

