Pasifika styles | Mustard + tapa

Miss Brown Top and Aysia-ley mustard skirt from Salt & Light Threads

I’m a big fan of mustard, so I almost died and went to heaven when I came across this Hawaiian pua styled mustard skirt…and then died again when I saw the top with its delicate raffle made with Samoan siapo (tapa).

This ensemble is designed by Samoan Brisbane based stylist and designer, Janice Brown. I’m excited to say that Janice will be Urban Viti’s first Talanoa/Interview for 2012!

Check out Salt & Light Threads online here or on Facebook here and do keep an eye out for Janice and I’s talanoa session later next week.

I loved this ensemble so much…that of cause I had to get both.

Skirt: Aysia-ley mustard skirt from Salt & Light Threads Originally $AU59, bought on sale for $AU20. Out of stock | Shoes: Marau from Dahia Shoes $FJD130 | Flax bag from New Zealand | Necklace: Can’t remember where I got it from 

Since it’s still summer here in Australia, I teamed up my mustard skirt with a plain black top with short lace sleeves, my lovely tapa shoes from Fiji, brown and black necklace that kind of reminds me of Fijian pottery and a flax bag…oh and not forgetting a red hibiscus in my hair.

My bestie Johanna bought the tapa shoes for me while we were in Fiji last month. The tapa shoes are made in Fiji by Dahia Shoes (#sidenote: I had put up my posters for Diasporadic679  in it’s sister shop, Ronnie’s Shoe Store in Otahuhu).  Read about their new Pacific range here and check out their Facebook page here for more styles.

6 thoughts on “Pasifika styles | Mustard + tapa

  1. Pingback: Talanoa : Janice Brown « Urban Viti

  2. Hi I’m just wondering if you can do a Samoan style tapa wedding dress I have been looking every where it’s been so hard to find what I want I know what I want. So if I send u a pic could u do it and how much thanks

Leave a Reply

